Best Outdoor Bug Zapper for Gnats and Small Flies

GOOTOP's Zap T6 Pro leads a six-zapper field on coverage, weight and a published warranty. But gnats are the hardest flying insect to zap, and no listing here promises a gnat-only result. Here's what the specs really tell you.

Share

The best outdoor bug zapper for gnats here is the GOOTOP Zap T6 Pro, a 2.16 lb unit with a 4200V grid, a 15W replaceable bulb and a stated 1/2 acre reach. If your hanging spot has no outlet within reach, the OnBeam SE566 runs on a 10W solar panel and a 4,000mAh battery instead. Price tiers in this category buy fairly predictable things: the cheapest picks give you LED tubes and a collection tray, the middle adds waterproofing or a longer warranty, and the top adds a battery so you can forget the extension cord entirely.

Best outdoor bug zapper for gnats at a glance

Pick Grid voltage Light source Price
Best overall
GOOTOP Bug Zapper Outdoor
4200V claim 15W replaceable bulb Check Price
Best budget pick
Buzbug LED Bug Zapper Indoor Outdoor
High voltage claim Dual LED, 365nm + 395nm Check Price
Best warranty
AMUFER Bug Zapper Outdoor Indoor
4400V claim 18W blue-violet bulb Check Price
Best upgrade
Flyghost Bug Zapper Mosquito Zapper
4200V claim 20W UV bulb Check Price
Best minimal setup
ASPECTEK Electric Bug Zapper
2800V claim Two 20W UV bulbs Check Price
Best premium
OnBeam Solar Bug Zapper Outdoor
4500V claim 2 LED bulbs, 365-395nm Check Price

Can a bug zapper actually catch gnats?

Here's the honest answer before you spend anything. Gnats are the hardest test in this category, and none of these six listings promises a gnat-only result.

Four of the six name gnats directly in their marketing. GOOTOP lists "gnats, midges" among the insects it says it eliminates. Flyghost says its 20W UV light attracts "mosquitoes, flies, and gnats." ASPECTEK names "fungus gnats" in its insect list. That is the manufacturer's claim, not a measured outcome, and it is worth reading as a marketing statement.

The complication is that gnat is a loose word covering several very different insects:

  • Fungus gnats breed in wet potting soil and rarely fly far from it
  • Fruit flies breed in fermenting produce indoors
  • Non-biting midges swarm near standing water at dusk
  • Biting no-see-ums are small enough to pass through some mesh screens

A UV zapper only works on the ones that fly toward light. Fungus gnats mostly do not, because they are drawn to damp soil and are weak fliers. So the honest framing for a best outdoor bug zapper for gnats search is this: a zapper is a broad flying-insect tool that will take some of your gnat population as a side effect, and it will not replace fixing the breeding site. Let the soil dry out. Empty the birdbath. Then hang a zapper for whatever is still airborne.

How I cut a crowded category down to six

Bug zappers are a category with hundreds of near-identical black plastic cylinders. I screened published listing data and cut on three specific grounds.

Cut one: no published dimensions. If a listing does not state a physical size, you cannot tell whether it fits the hook under your eave or clears a table edge. The five picks here with full dimensions range from 3.15 x 15.2 x 11 in for the flat ASPECTEK panel to 13.9 x 3.2 x 10.5 in for the OnBeam solar unit. That is a real difference in how you mount them.

Cut two: no stated coverage area. Four of the six state a figure, and they cluster tightly: 1/2 acre from GOOTOP, AMUFER and Buzbug, and 2,100 sq ft from Flyghost. Buzbug states both, giving 1/2 acre outdoors and 2,100 sq ft indoors, which tells you the two numbers describe the same lamp measured differently.

Cut three: no cleaning provision. A zapper fills with dead insects. GOOTOP, Buzbug and ASPECTEK all state a removable collection tray, and each says a cleaning brush or washable tray is included. A unit that expects you to shake it out over the lawn is a unit you will stop using by August.

What survived is a spread that covers the four real decisions: corded or battery, single bulb or dual, LED or glass tube, warranty or none. Every pick here has one seller listing it, so you are comparing brands rather than resellers.

1. GOOTOP Bug Zapper Outdoor — Best overall

A light 2.16 lb body, a 4200V grid, a replaceable 15W bulb and a published one-year warranty make this the least compromised pick in the set.

GOOTOP black cylindrical bug zapper with hanging ring and internal UV bulb — shows the replaceable-bulb design and the tray at the base

Best for: a patio or porch with a nearby outlet and mixed flying-insect pressure Skip it if: you have no reachable outdoor outlet

What separates the Zap T6 Pro inside this group is that it is the pick that sells fastest here by a wide margin, and it does that without giving anything up on paper. At 2.16 lb it is the second-lightest of the six, which matters more than it sounds. A light body hangs off a shepherd's hook, a pergola beam or a tree branch without you reinforcing anything.

The grid is a claimed 4200V, the middle of this field. GOOTOP describes a 15W bulb that you can replace rather than discard the unit, which is a genuine advantage over sealed designs. The listing also states EPA registration and a 1/2 acre coverage figure, and there's a one-year warranty in writing.

The trade-off is that GOOTOP publishes a single 15W bulb where Flyghost claims 20W and AMUFER claims 18W, and it sits at a mid price position rather than the cheapest. It is also mains-only. Against the OnBeam, that costs you every placement more than a cord length from an outlet.

Pros:

  • Lightest published weight bar one, at 2.16 lb
  • Replaceable 15W bulb, not a sealed lamp
  • Stated 1/2 acre coverage
  • One-year warranty published
  • Collection tray plus cleaning brush included

Cons:

  • Lower stated bulb wattage than three rivals
  • Corded only, so placement follows the outlet
  • Published dimensions of 0.79 x 0.79 x 0.79 in are clearly a listing error
  • Mid price position, not the cheapest here

2. Buzbug LED Bug Zapper Indoor Outdoor — Best budget pick

The cheapest of the six, and the only entry-priced pick that runs dual-wavelength LEDs instead of a glass tube.

Buzbug black bug zapper cylinder with LED tubes visible through the outer grid — shows the LED lamp array that replaces a glass bulb

Best for: spending the least while getting dual-wavelength LED attraction Skip it if: you want a published warranty in writing

This is the value argument in the set. Buzbug is the cheapest pick here and the second-fastest seller, and it is one of only two picks running dual-band LEDs at both 365nm and 395nm. Buzbug states a 25,000 to 50,000 hour lamp lifespan and describes that as roughly ten times a traditional glass tube, so you are not budgeting for replacement bulbs the way you would with a filament lamp.

At 1.83 lb it is the second-lightest here, and the 13.4 x 6.69 x 6.69 in body is the tallest of the cylindrical picks. The cord is stated at 5.6 ft, the shortest published reach in this group. Buzbug claims a 0.01-second shock from the grid, and states 1/2 acre outdoors or 2,100 sq ft indoors.

The gaps are real. Buzbug publishes no warranty, no grid voltage figure and no waterproof rating, which puts it behind AMUFER, Flyghost and OnBeam respectively on three separate counts. For a covered porch that's fine. For an exposed rail, less so.

Pros:

  • Cheapest of the six picks
  • Dual 365nm and 395nm LED wavelengths
  • Stated 25,000 to 50,000 hour lamp life
  • 1.83 lb, second-lightest in this set
  • Tray and cleaning brush included

Cons:

  • No published warranty at all
  • No stated grid voltage figure
  • 5.6 ft cord is the shortest published here
  • No waterproof rating given, unlike two rivals

3. AMUFER Bug Zapper Outdoor Indoor with 18W Power & 4400V — Best warranty

The only pick in the set with two years of manufacturer cover, on an entry price and a claimed 4400V grid.

AMUFER XL black bug zapper with blue-violet bulb glowing inside the cage — shows the 18W lamp that drives its half-acre coverage claim

Best for: anyone who wants two years of cover on a device left outdoors Skip it if: you need a long reach from the outlet

Warranty is the cleanest differentiator in this whole group, because only three of the six publish one and only AMUFER publishes two years. The other two published warranties are both one year. For a device that sits outside in humidity and gets bugs baked onto its grid, that second year is worth more than a marginal voltage difference.

The specs behind it hold up. AMUFER claims 4400V, second-highest here, and an 18W blue-violet bulb feeding a stated 1/2 acre. The listing describes UL1599 testing and EPA certification, plus a three-core double-insulated power cord. The body is 11.5 x 5.9 x 5.9 in at 2.2 lb, making it the heaviest of the four cylindrical picks by a small margin.

Its weak spot is the lamp technology. This is a bulb, not an LED array, so unlike Buzbug and OnBeam you have a consumable to think about, and AMUFER does not state whether the bulb is user-replaceable the way GOOTOP does. It's also the slowest-selling of the three entry and mid picks.

Pros:

  • Only two-year warranty in this set
  • 4400V claim, second-highest here
  • 18W bulb feeding a stated 1/2 acre
  • Entry price band despite the longer cover
  • Three-core double-insulated cord described

Cons:

  • No cord length published
  • Bulb rather than long-life LED array
  • No stated waterproof rating
  • Replaceable-bulb status not confirmed in the listing

4. Flyghost Bug Zapper Mosquito Zapper Electric Fly Traps — Best upgrade

The highest stated bulb wattage here at 20W, an IPX4 rating and a 6.5 ft cord, in the lightest body of the six.

Flyghost black bug zapper hanging by its hook with the UV bulb lit — shows the 20W lamp and the IPX4-rated outdoor housing

Best for: an exposed porch that gets rained on and a hanging spot far from power Skip it if: you want a warranty or a spare bulb included

Two things put Flyghost ahead of the cheaper corded picks. First, it publishes an IPX4 waterproof rating, and only one other pick here publishes any water rating at all. That is the specification that decides whether you leave a zapper on an exposed rail through a thunderstorm or move it under cover every night.

Second, the cord is 6.5 ft, the longest published reach among the corded picks, and there's a hanging hook. Flyghost says the 20W UV light attracts mosquitoes, flies and gnats, and pairs that with a claimed 4200V grid over 2,100 sq ft. At 1.6 lb in an 11 x 7 x 7 in shell, it is the lightest pick in the set, so the hook does not need to be sturdy.

Where it falls behind is documentation. Flyghost publishes no warranty, no included spare bulb, and no tray or brush detail, so on paper you get less support than GOOTOP, AMUFER or ASPECTEK for a mid price. It also sells slower than the two picks above it here.

Pros:

  • 20W stated bulb wattage, joint highest here
  • IPX4 waterproof rating published
  • 6.5 ft cord, longest corded reach in this set
  • 1.6 lb, lightest of all six
  • Hanging hook plus tabletop placement both supported

Cons:

  • No published warranty
  • No spare bulb or cleaning brush stated
  • Coverage stated as 2,100 sq ft, not the 1/2 acre three rivals claim
  • Mid price with less published support than cheaper picks

5. ASPECTEK Electric Bug Zapper — Best minimal setup

Two 20W UV bulbs and two spare bulbs in the box, in a flat panel that hangs on a chain or stands on a shelf.

ASPECTEK silver flat-panel bug zapper with twin UV tubes behind a mesh screen — shows the two-bulb layout and included hanging chain

Best for: a garage, barn or covered patio where you want spare bulbs on hand Skip it if: you need the highest grid voltage or a light unit

ASPECTEK is the odd shape in this group, and that's the point. It's a flat 3.15 x 15.2 x 11 in panel rather than a cylinder, which means it mounts flush against a wall or sits stable on a workbench. It's also the only pick that includes two replacement bulbs, so the consumable question is answered for you at purchase.

Two 20W UV bulbs is the highest total lamp count and wattage stated in this set. ASPECTEK names fungus gnats, flies, moths, mosquitoes and Asian beetles, and describes a self-cleaning electric grid plus a washable removable tray. There's a one-year limited manufacturer warranty and a chain-and-hooks kit for hanging. The listing dates it to 2016, making it the oldest design here.

The catches are clear. The grid is stated at 2800V, the lowest figure in this group by some distance, and at 4.01 lb it is the heaviest corded pick. ASPECTEK also frames this as indoor and covered outdoor use, so it is not the one to hang on an open fence in the rain.

Pros:

  • Two 20W UV bulbs, highest stated lamp output here
  • Two replacement bulbs included
  • Chain and hooks supplied for hanging
  • Self-cleaning grid and washable tray described
  • One-year limited warranty published

Cons:

  • 2800V claim, the lowest grid figure in this set
  • 4.01 lb, heaviest corded pick here
  • Covered outdoor use only, no water rating
  • 2016 design, oldest listing in the group

6. OnBeam Solar Bug Zapper Outdoor — Best premium

The only cordless pick, running a 10W solar panel and a 4,000mAh battery, with a claimed 4500V grid and IPX5 rating.

OnBeam solar bug zapper with black panel on top and dual LED tubes below — shows the panel and battery setup that removes the need for an outlet

Best for: a garden bed or fence line with no outlet anywhere near Skip it if: your hanging spot sits in shade most of the day

OnBeam solves a problem none of the other five can touch. There is no cord. A 10W 5V monocrystalline panel charges a 4,000mAh battery, with USB charging as a backup, and an AUTO mode that switches the grid on at dusk on its own. If the spot where gnats swarm is 40 ft from your nearest outlet, this is the only pick in the set that reaches it.

The rest of the sheet is strong too. OnBeam claims 4500V, the highest figure here, driven by two LED bulbs in the 365-395nm range, the same dual-band approach Buzbug uses. It publishes an IPX5 rating, one step above Flyghost's IPX4, and describes an aluminium frame rather than the ABS plastic GOOTOP uses. It also states EPA registration.

The costs are the price position and the physics. At 3.9 lb it is the second-heaviest pick, it's the most expensive of the six, and it's the slowest seller in this group. Solar output collapses in shade, so a north-facing spot under dense tree cover puts you back on the USB cable.

Pros:

  • Only cordless pick, so placement is unrestricted
  • 4500V claim, highest stated grid here
  • IPX5 rating, best water resistance in the set
  • Dual 365-395nm LED bulbs
  • Aluminium frame and AUTO dusk activation

Cons:

  • Most expensive pick in this group
  • Performance depends on daily sun at the mounting spot
  • No published warranty
  • 3.9 lb, second-heaviest here

UV wavelength, grid voltage, coverage: which one decides it?

Most guides to the best outdoor bug zapper for gnats compare grid voltage. That is the wrong number to lead with.

Voltage tells you what happens after an insect touches the grid. Every pick here clears 2800V, and an insect the size of a gnat dies at any of these figures. The difference between 2800V and 4500V matters for a horsefly, not a midge. So treat voltage as a pass/fail check, not a ranking.

What actually decides it is wavelength and lamp position, in that order.

  1. Wavelength determines which insects fly toward the lamp at all. Buzbug and OnBeam both state 365nm and 395nm, a dual band. The bulb-based picks state wattage but not wavelength, so you're trusting "UV" as a category.
  2. Lamp position determines whether the insects reach the grid. A zapper hung at head height over a seating area draws gnats toward you. Hung 20 to 30 ft away and slightly downwind, it draws them away.
  3. Coverage is the loosest figure of the three. Three picks claim 1/2 acre and two claim 2,100 sq ft, and those are manufacturer estimates under ideal conditions, not survey results.

The practical takeaway: pick on wavelength and placement freedom, verify voltage clears the bar, and read coverage as a rough class rather than a measurement.

Corded or solar: where will you actually hang it?

This is the decision that eliminates half the field before you compare anything else. Walk out to the spot where the gnats swarm and look for an outlet.

Five of these six picks need mains power. Their published cord lengths tell you the real reach: Flyghost states 6.5 ft, Buzbug states 5.6 ft, and GOOTOP, AMUFER and ASPECTEK publish no cord length at all. None of those numbers gets you across a lawn. You are either mounting within a few feet of a covered outlet, or you are running an outdoor-rated extension cord and living with it across a walkway.

The OnBeam SE566 is the exception, and its 4,000mAh battery plus 10W panel is the entire reason it earns the premium spot. It goes wherever the sun goes.

Weather rating narrows things again:

  • IPX5, the OnBeam, is the highest rating stated here
  • IPX4, the Flyghost, handles splashing rain
  • No stated rating covers GOOTOP, AMUFER and Buzbug, so treat those as covered-location units
  • Covered outdoor use, as ASPECTEK's listing puts it, is an explicit limit

So the sequence is: outlet first, weather exposure second, everything else third. A 4500V grid on a unit you cannot power is worth nothing.

What owning a zapper involves after week one

Nobody tells you this part before you buy, so here it is plainly. A zapper is not a set-and-forget device.

Emptying the tray. GOOTOP, Buzbug and ASPECTEK all state a removable tray, and GOOTOP and Buzbug both state an included brush. In heavy season you'll be brushing that out weekly. ASPECTEK describes its grid as self-cleaning, which reduces the fiddly part but not the tray part.

Bulb replacement. This splits the set cleanly. GOOTOP states a replaceable 15W bulb. ASPECTEK ships two spares in the box. Buzbug and OnBeam use LED arrays, and Buzbug states 25,000 to 50,000 hours, so replacement is not a normal part of ownership. AMUFER and Flyghost publish neither a spare nor a replaceability statement.

Noise. Flyghost says it operates quietly. That's the only pick that addresses it, and a zapper's snap is loud enough to notice from a bedroom window, so factor in distance.

Managing expectations on gnats. The zapper takes airborne insects that fly to light. It does nothing about the wet planter or the clogged gutter that produced them. Fix the source, then let the zapper handle the strays.

The verdict

Three price tiers, three sensible answers.

At the entry tier, the Buzbug MO-008C is the pick that gets you the most technology for the least money. Dual 365nm and 395nm LEDs with a stated 25,000 to 50,000 hour life mean no bulb budget, and 1.83 lb hangs anywhere under cover. The AMUFER IKO-918CE sits in the same tier and swaps the LED array for an 18W bulb, a claimed 4400V grid and the only two-year warranty here. Choose Buzbug for low running cost, AMUFER for the paperwork.

In the middle tier, the GOOTOP Zap T6 Pro is the default and the best outdoor bug zapper for gnats in this set overall. It's the only pick combining a light 2.16 lb body, a replaceable 15W bulb, a stated 1/2 acre reach and a published warranty, and it is by a clear margin the one buyers here choose most often. The Flyghost DH1 costs the same class of money and trades the warranty for an IPX4 rating, a 20W bulb and a 6.5 ft cord. That's the swap to make on an exposed porch.

At the premium tier, the OnBeam SE566 is the one worth paying for and only for one reason: no cord. A 10W panel, a 4,000mAh battery, a 4500V claim and IPX5 sealing put it anywhere the sun reaches. The ASPECTEK DYT-52T sits in the same tier with two 20W bulbs and two spares, but its 2800V grid and 4.01 lb body make it a garage unit rather than a garden one.

FAQ

Is a bug zapper worth it for gnats specifically?

A bug zapper is worth it for gnats only as part of a wider approach. It catches the ones that fly toward UV light, which includes many midges and some fruit flies, but fungus gnats stay near damp soil and rarely reach a lamp. Dry out overwatered pots and empty standing water first, then hang a zapper for what's left airborne.

What does more money buy in this category?

More money buys you independence from the wall, not a bigger kill. The cheapest pick here, the Buzbug, already gives dual 365nm and 395nm LEDs and a stated 1/2 acre. Stepping up adds an IPX4 or IPX5 rating, and at the top the OnBeam adds a 10W solar panel and a 4,000mAh battery so you can hang it anywhere sunlit.

Which grid voltage do I actually need for small flying insects?

The grid voltage you actually need is lower than the marketing suggests. Every pick here states at least 2800V, from the ASPECTEK at that figure up to the OnBeam at a claimed 4500V, and any of those kills an insect the size of a gnat on contact. Voltage matters for larger, tougher insects. For small flies, prioritise lamp wavelength and placement instead.

GOOTOP or OnBeam: which should I choose?

Choose GOOTOP or OnBeam based on one thing: whether you have an outlet. The GOOTOP Zap T6 Pro is lighter at 2.16 lb, cheaper, carries a one-year warranty and a replaceable 15W bulb, but it's mains-only. The OnBeam SE566 costs more and weighs 3.9 lb, yet its solar panel and 4,000mAh battery put it wherever you want.

What's the most common mistake when placing a bug zapper?

The most common mistake when placing a bug zapper is hanging it right over the seating area. That draws insects toward you rather than away. Mount it 20 to 30 ft from where people sit, slightly downwind, and away from bedroom windows since the snap carries. Cord length limits this: Flyghost publishes 6.5 ft, Buzbug 5.6 ft.

Start by walking out to the spot where the gnats gather at dusk and checking for an outlet. That single check decides whether you're shopping among five corded picks or buying the one solar unit, and it saves you comparing voltages that were never going to be the deciding factor. If there's power within reach and cover overhead, the GOOTOP Zap T6 Pro is the sensible default: light enough to hang from anything, with a bulb you can swap instead of a unit you replace, and a warranty in writing. Pair it with drying out whatever wet spot is breeding them, and you'll notice the difference within a week.

Last updated: September 26, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.